MACJC Football: East MS Preseason ranked #1 in the nation by NJCAA. 5 MACJC programs ranked in preseason Top 20.


Farm Bureau Insurance

PRCC’s Metcalf named to SEC Football Legends Class

PRCC’s Metcalf named to SEC Football Legends Class

By Stan Caldwell

Sports Information Director


POPLARVILLE – Pearl River Community College assistant football coach Terrence Metcalf has added another honor to his list of accolades.


Metcalf, who serves as assistant head coach and offensive line coach at PRCC, was named as one of 14 members of the Southeastern Conference Football Legends Class of 2017, representing Ole Miss, his alma mater.


"I'm glad that Ole Miss has selected me for this honor, but I'm not real big on that kind of stuff," said Metcalf. "I'm humbled and blessed to be a part of this."


The SEC Football Legends is an annual awards program that honors football greats from each of the league's 14 member schools.


Metcalf was a consensus All-America as an offensive lineman at Ole Miss in 2001, after starting all four seasons as a Rebel. He went on to a seven-year pro career, mostly with the Chicago Bears, for whom he played in Super Bowl LXI. He is in his second season as an assistant at PRCC.


Other members of the SEC Legends Class of 2017 include: Alabama, Gene Stallings (former head coach 1990-96); Arkansas, Dan Hampton (defensive tackle 1975-78); Auburn, Carlos Rogers (defensive back 1996-98); Florida, Danny Wuerrfel (quarterback 1993-96); Georgia, Champ Bailey (defensive back 1996-98); Kentucky, Nate Northington (defensive back 1966-67); LSU, Glenn Dorsey (defensive tackle 2004-07); Mississippi State, Floyd Womack (offensive line 1997-2000); Missouri, Brad Smith (quarterback, 2002-05); South Carolina, John Abraham (linebacker 1996-99); Tennessee, Chad Clifton (offensive line 1995-99); Texas A&M, Daave Elmendorf (defensive back 1968-70); Vanderbilt, Don Orr (quarterback/safety 1954-56).


The 2017 class will be honored at the SEC Weekend of Champions Dec. 1-2 in Atlanta, Ga.


The annual SEC Legends Dinner presented by AT&T will be held Friday, Dec. 1 at the Hyatt Regency hotel in Atlanta, and the group will be recognized at halftime of the SEC Championship Game, scheduled for Dec. 2 at the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium.